Home > Uncategorized > Behind already??

Behind already??

I was ahead after my first reading session, and I think I somehow figured I was WAY ahead. Now, I’m behind.

I just spent 15 minutes bookmarking each ‘spoiler line’ page in my Treo, so that should help me stay at an appropriate pace… when I pass a bookmark I’ll know I’ve done what I need to by that date.

I don’t mind getting a bit ahead, but I don’t want to be so far ahead that I inadvertently post spoilers. (As a natural speed reader, I’m hyper-cautious about discussing books with people who’re still reading.) Of course, I also don’t want to be behind, because then (like now) I can’t read the posts here for fear of getting spoiled myself.

So I will get caught up over the weekend and be ready to post something insightful (with any luck) on Monday!

In the meantime, I am certain that my colleagues’ lovely long posts over the last few days are brilliant. I will read them on Monday and then know for sure. 🙂

Heather, who vows NOT to get behind again!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 2, 2009 at 9:40 am

    There are a few resources already linked on IS that I’ve found useful in making sure my comments don’t stray past the spoiler line. The first is Dr. Keith O’Neill’s very brief scene-by-scene synopsis (don’t read too far ahead, or it’s a spoiler in-and-of-itself):

    http://faculty.sunydutchess.edu/oneill/infinite.htm

    The other is the page-by-page annotations over at the Wallace Wiki:

    http://infinitejest.wallacewiki.com/david-foster-wallace/index.php?title=Infinite_Jest_Page_by_Page

    These are both by page number, and I realize you’re reading on an electronic device, but the official schedule over at IS also has the Kindle locations listed, do those apply to the Treo as well?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

