Home > Uncategorized > Ulysses Audio Book (Episodes 1-12)

Ulysses Audio Book (Episodes 1-12)

Hi Ulyssesians.  I know the read is technically over, but after finishing the book, I wanted to give it a go on audio book.  I’m about half way done with the disc set.  You can see my post about it here.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Joann Karen
    September 8, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Confession: I used the Audio book to get me through to the end. I sat scanning the words in the book while listening to the wonderful native Dublin voices do the hard work. (In my defense, the Hart & Hayman and the Stuart Gilbert books WERE read cover to cover, there is no audio book for either of them that I know of.) while I wish my College degrees had been in Literature, History and Art History, they are actually in Computer Science, Accounting and Finance with a little Law thrown in in the form of a Paralegal Certification, so I do not feel qualified to make Literary comments. I have enjoyed all of the reads so far and always look forward to reading the blogs of the “Infinite Zombies” as I learn so much from them. I have compiled quite a list of Joyce-related books to read , ones that were mentioned here and 2 that Gilbert mentions Joyce read before or while writing Ulysses. Has anyone read another Joyce ? Joyce Cary ? I just recently read something about him and got curious and so have read “The Moonlight” and then his first trilogy “Herself Surprised”, “To Be a Pilgrim” and am about 1/2 way through reading “The Horses Mouth” – I have seen the movie version of this with Alec Guinness.

  2. September 13, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Hi Joann,

    I just saw this comment today. Isn’t the audio fun to listen to (even if it doesn’t make sense?) I assume you have the same narrator (Donnelly). It was pretty amazing hearing him say all these crazy things in so many different accents.

  3. Joann Karen
    September 14, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Hi Paul, Yes, I enjoyed the Audio very much. I thought both narrators were exceptional. Last night I watched the Movie “Bloom” for the first time. I thought most of it was really beautiful, even though some of the esisodes were out of order and 3 or 4 were left out or kindof combined, which I guess is to be exepected in trying to fit the book into 2 hrs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

